Kicking Cliche’ in the teeth

I’ve actively avoided veteran functions, and you won’t find me sporting every bumper sticker and unit patch I can find on my vest.

Maybe it’s the stigma of being labeled, or being grouped with the self righteous wannabe bad asses and outright frauds. ( I have some stories there !)

Whatever my reasoning right and wrong; the island I have created has been a lonely one. Don’t get me wrong, I have a wonderful family, and dear friends. Yet a gut wrenching loneliness has haunted me.

Somewhere early in this reconnecting process with the men of ACo 1-87 the author “BC” hit me with a “Love ya Brother”. I hear “brother” thrown around casually at work and such all the time and it’s so damn cliche’ I hardly pay attention to it. This time I felt something I had not felt in maybe 20 years. I’m not generally a touchy feely guy, but I cried.

One stupid Cliche’ of a word had kicked me square in the teeth. This man, this almost stranger of a man, was still connected to me in ways that can’t be inked. We were brothers by sweat, blood and duty. I had forgotten, and minimized my attachments to this time period. Now it was all back, and I was crying. Not since the loss of my own brother in Kentucky wheat field had I cried this much.

Thank You  BC, TC, and BS for reminding me of what I am and where I came from. Those of us separated by years from our service by choice or chance lose that connection and brotherhood.

-Earl

 

 

One thought on “Kicking Cliche’ in the teeth

  1. ‘Build me a son, O Lord, who will be strong enough to know when he is weak, and brave enough to face himself when he is afraid, one who will be proud and unbending in honest defeat, and humble and gentle in victory.’

    – Douglas MacArthur

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

